Skip to content

Class struggle

July 7, 2009

Turn to page 107 in your Dungeon Master’s Guide (3.5 edition).

Do you see this?  NPC classes.  Why aren’t these in the Player’s Handbook?  Now, my own background is more of a brooding, touchy-feely, White-Wolf LARP situation, but I understand the vast majority of D&D players want to fart lightning while they cleave open the bugbear’s skull and take his gold.  You know, folks for whom the mere suggestion of a class for artisans or merchants would make them fall asleep in their Mountain Dew.  That can’t be all D&D players, though.

Not even in the appendix?  Seriously?

It’s such a good idea, though.  My game is already underway, and started out in the wrong system, but I wish I had made my players choose one of these more modest classes for their first level.  I apologize to anyone currently choking on Cheetos right now, but the humble beginning is going to make for an overall more compelling story as opposed to the level 1 gods everyone creates in 4th Edition.

That said, only the Aristocrat and Expert classes have any real utility for player characters.  Therefore, I have added a new page to the Erul-Iton section detailing these classes (with some minor modifications) and one new class, the Merchant.

Erul-Iton – General Errata

No comments yet

Leave a comment